Search

yamanoterider

Ride the Yamanote line, in any direction

Date

October 25, 2011

About ‘Nominication’

Last night, there was a little ‘Beer Event’ on the 13th floor. I just got a message per email: free beer on the 13th floor, but you cannot enter after 19:00.

And I didn’t go.

But, it was past 20:00, there were still many persons at my floor, some of them with little blue paper bags, like little cute shopping bags (I thought that they might contain souvenirs from the 13th floor). I was heading home when a colleague told me “let’s go to the 13th floor”.

There, even if it was past 19:00, I received my own little blue bag with three cans of beer (Suntory, one of the four big beer companies in Japan, the others are Kirin, Sapporo and Asahi). Sincerely, I had two.

And there I learned what ‘Nominication’ is. That word comes from ‘nomi’, which, if I understood correctly, means ‘drinking’, and ‘communication’. So ‘nominication’ refers to the way in which the people in Japan socialize after work while having a drink; so not only I have experienced that, but now I also know what it means. Nominication also has its rules, like always pouring into other people’s glasses but not your own and I don’t know what else. And I also noticed that is kind of unusual when someone doesn’t drink alcohol at all.

I really wanted to take a picture, but I was busy, nominicating.

En Español                     Auf Deutsch

A Presentation

So, last week I invited my colleagues from Tokyo to have a little presentation of our product within the Oracle offices. It was agreed that we would do it on Monday and Monday was the day.

I made a little presentation for my three colleagues and I was glad to see how much interest they showed, specially in the technical parts; I thought that it’s due to their background.

We used one of the meeting rooms from the third floor, we dimmed the lights and used a projector. The presentation was kind of VDI in a nutshell, or in the skin of a nutshell since I didn’t go that deep into details. And it was in simple English.

En Español                     Auf Deutsch

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑